What I’m… Wednesday: Nerd Stuff

What I’m Watching

Sadly I don’t have a PS4, so I could not play Until Dawn when it came out at the end of August, but I have been voraciously watching Let’s Plays of the game and it’s been an enjoyable (and significantly less scary) experience. I love how Supermassive Games uses choice-based game mechanics and horror movie tropes together to enhance what people love about both genres and create an end-product the player feels invested in. The graphics and voice-acting were great, and watching the game shortly after finishing Beyond Two Souls made for an incredibly interesting comparison. I’ll link some of my favorite playthroughs below:

What I’m Playing

I recently started the episodic game Blues and Bullets from developer A Crowd of Monsters. The art style reminds me of a couple of the Telltale games I’ve really enjoyed, namely The Wolf Among Us, but the crime noir elements feel a bit less engaging and unfold more slowly than Bigby Wolf’s adventures. I’ve also run into a few bugs in the ‘combat’ portions of the game on my PC, but the fantasy and horror elements are keeping me intrigued as I move through episode 1.

What I’m Reading

One of my favorite actors, writers, producers, and all-around nerds Felicia Day came through Texas on her book tour in August and I was able to meet her for the second time this year. (The first was at the SXSW gaming expo, but that’s a story for another post.) I’ve just started her memoir and so far it captures Day’s charming combination of confidence, talent, self-deprecating humor, and perversion. I’m excited to read more.

What I’m Listening To

I listen to a lot of NPR and talk radio while I’m driving, but sometimes I’m just not up to hearing another traumatic news story as I sit in traffic on my way home from work, so I’ve been sifting through podcasts lately trying to find a few I can come back to each week. Below are a couple of my favorites so far.

That Video Game Podcast – They cover a huge array of games and have a series of spoilercasts on Life is Strange that are really fun, especially if you don’t have people you can discuss the game with.

Breakfast for Dinner – This podcast is produced by a couple in Austin and covers everything from sports to politics to fashion. I love it’s laid-back vibe: it feels like actually having dinner with some friends.

The Moth Storytelling Hour – An old favorite of mine, The Moth is a storytelling non-profit that runs events all across the U.S. and the world, and their podcasts feature some of the best stories from those events. If you don’t know where to start, check out some of Elna Baker’s pieces. She’s an excellent storyteller.

the moth
What do you all think of Blues and Bullets? What are some of your favorite podcasts? Let me know in the comments below, and thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

